Tend Your Garden

If you have never read the book Resolved: 13 Resolutions for LIFE by Best-Selling Author Orrin Woodward, I would highly suggest getting your hands on a copy. Currently I am rereading the book to catch some of the nuggets I missed my first time through.

The third chapter of Resolved talks about resolving to have a positive attitude in all situations. Wow, intense. How many people do you know who can maintain a positive attitude for a full day?  Never mind in all situations. As Orrin says in the book, “attitude simply isn’t optional for leaders”. A lot of people may read that and say well I’m not a leader, I’m just an employee, I don’t want responsibility; or some won’t say anything but may think “I they never could be a leader of any type”. The thing is, we all lead in some aspect of our life whether we realize it or not.

I know very well how the “some won’t say anything” group feels about leadership; I use to be there. I always dreamed of being a leader, a speaker, someone who could take charge and help people move forward. Not only did I doubt myself, but I used my personality as an excuse. Britt Nicole has a song Walk on Water, these thoughts use to run through my head all the time when making decisions, thinking about speaking, or thinking about achieving my dreams:

You look around
It’s staring back at you
Another wave of doubt
Will it pull you under
You wonder

What if I’m overtaken
What if I never make it
What if no one’s there?

In chapter 3 of Resolved Orrin talks about tending your garden (mind/attitude) and pulling the weeds. Over the last couple of years, with great family support (from my wife, parents, and in-laws), great books and audios, and an amazing association I have been able to start tending my garden. It’s been a lot of work and will continue to be a lot of work, but it is well worth it.  Back to chapter 3; Orrin talks about John Wooden’s 3 principles on attitude:

  1. Never Whine
  2. Never Complain
  3. Never Make Excuses

Starting out tending my attitude garden I was almost a criminal offender of all three principles. Books like Resolved (which helps you see where you stand), The NO Complaining Rule (amazing book for overcoming complaining; which for me that was and is a battle), and The Magic of Thinking BIG (Especially chapter 2:  “Cure Yourself of Excusitis, the Failure Disease”). Now my outlook lines up with the chorus of Walk on Water:

So what are you waiting for?
What do you have to lose?
Your insecurities try to alter you

You know you’re made for more
So don’t be afraid to move
Your faith is all
It takes and you can
Walk on the water too

Like a vegetable garden, the weeds in the garden of your attitude prevent the desired crop from blooming and growing. Your attitude is going to determine your success in life, as well as the happiness you get from life. Take care of the weeds, so you can grow a healthy and flourishing crop.

Life’s an adventure

-Matthew

One thought on “Tend Your Garden

Leave a Reply

